Reckless Driving offenses in Virginia should be taken seriously. Unlike some states, Virginia considers Reckless Driving to be a misdemeanor, meaning it is a criminal offense. If you are convicted of Reckless Driving, you will have a criminal record that cannot be expunged. The maximum punishments from the court are as follows:
-12 months in jail
-6 months loss of driving privileges
Additionally, the DMV will assess 6 negative points to your driving record and your insurance premiums will likely increase.
The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.